Pritzker Architecture Prize 1993
Read Online

Pritzker Architecture Prize 1993 presented to Fumihiko Maki by

  • 278 Want to read
  • ·
  • 68 Currently reading

Published by Jensen & Walker in Los Angeles .
Written in English


  • Maki, Fumihiko, -- 1928-,
  • Architects -- Japan

Book details:

Edition Notes

Statementsponsored by the Hyatt Foundation
SeriesPritzker Architecture Prize -- 1993
ContributionsHyatt Foundation (Los Angeles, Calif.)
The Physical Object
Pagination[52] p. :
Number of Pages52
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL14824363M

Download Pritzker Architecture Prize 1993


The Pritzker Prize is the most prestigious international prize for architecture. Architect includes all 42 recipients of the Pritzker Prize, and captures in pictures and their own words their awe-inspiring achievements. Organized in reverse chronological order by laureate each chapter features four to six of the architect's major works 5/5(1). Thirty-three of the world’s most accomplished and inspiring architects—Gehry, Pei, Meier, Nouvel, Piano, and 28 more—express their views on creativity, inspiration, and legacy in this visually stunning, one-of-a-kind collection The Pritzker Prize is the most prestigious international prize for architecture. Architect presents all 33 recipients of the Pritzker Prize, and cap/5(18). Fumihiko Maki, winner of the Pritzker Architecture Prize, is widely regarded as one of Japan's finest architects, based on his rational approach and use of technology to create imaginative spaces for contemporary society. His buildings are known for their innovative use of modern materials, attention to well-crafted details, and overall sensibility of lightness and transparency. Jean Nouvel speaks of the similarities between film and architecture, Robert Venturi finds ideas in 'gas stations as well as Borromini and Chartres', James Stirling believed that the best architecture was 'a gift to the city.' Architect is the first book to document what the Pritzker Prize laureates have said and written about their field.

The Pritzker Architecture Prize is said to be awarded "irrespective of nationality, race, creed, or ideology". The recipients receive US$,, a citation certificate, and, since , a bronze medallion. The designs on the medal are inspired by the work of architect Louis Sullivan, while the Latin inspired inscription on the reverse of the medallion—firmitas, utilitas, venustas (English. The Pritzker Architecture Prize. Toggle navigation. Main navigation. Laureates; About the Prize Laureate, as the new Chair of the Pritzker Prize Jury. Manuela Lucá-Dazio joins as an advisor. Read about their appointments here. Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara Laureates. Arata Fumihiko Maki Laureate. Alvaro Siza   The annual Pritzker Architecture Prize, often described as the Nobel prize of architecture, was established by the Hyatt Foundation in The list of past Pritzker winners reads like an architectural who's who: Philip Johnson, James Stirling, Kenzo Tange, Frank O. Gehry, I.M. Pei, and, most recently, Renzo Piano have all s: 4. The presentation of the Pritzker Architecture Prize to architect Tadao Ando was made by Jay A. Pritzker, president of the Hyatt Foundation, in the Grand Trianon which was being used for the occasion by special authorization of the President of French Republic. It is usually reserved for official French government functions.

Prior to joining the Pritzker Prize, Ms. Thorne served as Associate Curator of the Department of Architecture at The Art Institute of Chicago from to She is the editor and author of several books including The Pritzker Architecture Prize: The First Twenty Years, and author of numerous articles for architectural journals and. Japanese Architect Fumihiko Maki Is Named Laureate of the Pritzker Archtecture Prize. Citing his work as "intelligent and artistic in concept and expression, meticulously achieved," The Hyatt Foundation jury has named Japanese architect Fumihiko Maki the sixteenth Laureate of his profession's highest honor, the Pritzker Architecture Prize. Vitra Fire Station (–) One of her first clients was Rolf Fehlbaum the president-director general of the Swiss furniture firm Vitra, and later, from to , a member of the jury for the prestigious Pritzker Architecture , Fehlbaum had invited Frank Gehry, then little-known, to build a design museum at the Vitra factory in Weil-am-Rhein. Architect: Fumihiko Maki, won the prize in ; Entry price: free; Fumihiko Maki spent 25 years building Hillside Terrace, a modernist mini-city made of concrete, glass, and steel in a quiet Tokyo district called Daikanyamacho. Maki was a student of another Pritzker prize winner — Kenzō Tange.